Scientific Advisory Committee

The Scientific Advisory Committee is asked every year to give its opinion on the Research Programme, its evolution and relevance, and to make recommendations on future research directions. It is composed of seven members:

Five academic members, experts in the climate impacts of aviation from European or American universities or research centres:

  • Dr Klaus Gierens, Research Scientist in the Earth System Modelling department of the Institute of Atmospheric Physics of the German Aerospace Center (DLR), in Oberpfaffenhofen, Bavaria, Germany
  • Dr Andrew Gettelman, Senior Scientist in the Climate and Global Dynamics Division and the Atmospheric Chemistry Division at the National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR), in Boulder, Colorado, USA
  • Dr Irene Dedoussi, Assistant Professor in the Department of Control and Operations of the Faculty of Aerospace Engineering at Delft University of Technology (TU Delft) in Delft, Netherlands
  • Dr Roberto Paoli, Associate Professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at Polytechnic Montreal, in Montreal, Canada
  • Dr Daniel Cariolle, Consultant at the Centre Européen de Recherche et de Formation Avancée en Calcul Scientifique (CERFACS) in Toulouse, France.

A representative of the Air and Space Academy:

  • Anne Bondiou-Clergerie

A representative of the French Aerospace Industries Association (GIFAS):

  • Baptiste Voillequin, Vice President R&D Commission

A representative of the French aeronautical industry:

  • Bruno Stoufflet, Vice-President R&D at Dassault Aviation